The Memory Thief

by Lauren Mansy

On Sale: 2019-10-01

Price: $18.99

Book Summary

Perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo and Victoria Aveyard, The Memory Thief by debut author Lauren Mansy brings readers on an unforgettable journey through the city of Craewick---a city where memories are currency, citizens are divided by ability, and “Gifted” individuals can take memories from others as they please.

About the Book

A 2020 YALSA (Young Adult Library Services Association) Teens’ Top Ten Book!

In this immersive and original YA fantasy novel where memories are currency taken and used by the elite, Etta has worked for years to keep her ability to steal memories a secret, hoping to leave her past as a rebel operative against the system behind. But when her mother’s memories are placed for auction, Etta must face her past and become a memory thief once more.

“Will delight fantasy readers who revel in fully developed settings and unusual powers.” –Booklist

“A suspenseful page-turner, delightfully chock full of unexpected twists and turns.” –Shelf Awareness

The Memory Thief:

  • Is perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo and Victoria Aveyard
  • Is a clean coming of age young adult fantasy, with unexpected love story suitable for readers thirteen and up

  • Is a great gift for teens’ and YA readers’ birthdays, Christmas, or any gift-giving event

Being able to take someone’s memories with a simple touch should place Etta Lark in the higher realms of Craewick’s society, but it is a society she wants nothing to do with. The power-obsessed ruler, Madame, has created a corrupt culture where the poor are sold and used to further prosper the rich, and any attempts to fight the system are often met with despair. Like when Etta’s mistake while part of the protesting Shadows organization left her mother bedridden and in an asylum controlled by Madame herself. But everything changes when Etta gets word Madame wishes to place her “criminal” mother’s memories on the auction block to be sold to the highest bidder. Etta will do anything to keep her mother’s mind intact, even if it means coming out of hiding and rejoining the Shadows, who need her powers to complete a dangerous memory heist that could overturn the social structure.

As she faces startling attacks, an unexpected romance, and a conspiracy that changes everything she knew about herself and her world, Etta is left with one question: In a place where nothing is what is seems, can she ever become more than a gifted thief?

Reviews

Mansy's debut will delight fantasy readers who revel in fully developed settings and unusual powers.

The Memory Thief is fast paced and didn't stop for one second...This book is perfect for people who are looking for a quick unique fantasy novel that is also a stand alone!

A compelling, darkly fantastic tale ... Though Mansy builds an expansive fantasy world all her own, her tale uses dystopian motifs to great success, such as the corrosive effects of an overabundance of power falling into the wrong hands and her stern commentary on the divide between the haves and have-nots. Readers, like Etta and her fellow citizens, will be challenged to contemplate the nature of truth, considering the unique role that memories play in the Realms. Mansy also delivers a fine romance, made all the more gratifying by the difficulties sustained along the way. A welcome addition to the YA fantasy canon, The Memory Thief is a suspenseful page-turner, delightfully chock full of unexpected twists and turns.

As evidenced by 'The Memory Thief', author Lauren Mansy has a genuine talent for narrative storytelling and an authentic flair for originality. A riveting great read with more plot twists and turns than a Disney Land roller coaster, 'The Memory Thief' will prove to be an immediate and enduringly popular addition to school and community library YA Fiction and amp; Fantasy Fiction collections.

A thought-provoking and unique YA fantasy, THE MEMORY THIEF is a engrossing and lovely story. Twists and turns keep the reader guessing as they follow Etta on her physical and mental journey.

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9780310767657
  • ISBN 10: 0310767652
  • Imprint: Blink
  • On Sale: 2019-10-01
  • Pages: 320
  • List Price: $18.99
  • Publisher: Blink
  • Publication Date: 2019-10-01
  • Category 1 : YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Fantasy / General
  • Category 2 : YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Thrillers & Suspense
  • Category 3 : YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Romance / Clean & Wholesome
  • Category 4 : YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Action & Adventure / General
  • Category 5 : YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Fantasy / Historical