The Magic All Around - Jennifer Moorman

THE MAGIC ALL AROUND

WOMEN'S FICTION I MAGICAL REALISM I SOUTHERN

Sometimes a family treasure hunt unfurls new paths in life. This enchanting and whimsical tale of mothers and daughters, home, and love will open readers’ eyes to the magic all around them.

Magic-All-Around-Amazon-A

The Russell family members all seem to have . . . gifts. Eldest sister Penelope naturally infuses strength or joy or love—whatever the wearer requires—into the fabric of the dresses she designs as a seamstress. Her younger sister, Lilith, is never without whatever she needs—despite the free-spirited and nomadic life she lives with her daughter. There’s always a person nearby who just happens to have an apartment available to rent, or a part-time job open, or a car to borrow just when they need it. And Lilith’s adult daughter, Mattie, always seems to trigger the perfect song to mysteriously start playing—whether from a radio in another room that was turned off or from a friend’s phone in their pocket. And at the heart of the family is their old Victorian home that sometimes seems to have a personality in and of itself.

When independent, artistic Mattie Russell finds herself back in the family home after her mother’s unexpected death, she has no intention of sticking around the small town, even though she has no future destination in mind. She’s used to living in a new city every couple of years with Lilith as her sole companion, and she’s especially hesitant to entangle herself in the Russell family secrets about their special giftings.

But during the reading of the will, the family is shocked to learn Lilith included a testamentary trust that requires Mattie to stay in Ivy Ridge long enough to complete a series of seemingly absurd tasks in order to claim her inheritance. While completing the tasks, Mattie discovers that her mother had a well-thought-out plan for her daughter that would lead Mattie to finding her birth father, teach her how to choose her own path, learn to keep her heart open for love, and discover that staying still long enough to sow seeds can produce a stunning garden and vibrant life.

This enchanting and whimsical tale of mothers and daughters, home, and love will open readers’ eyes to the magic all around them.

PRAISE

". . . brimming with lyrical Southern beauty, page-turning mystery, and delightful magic. With a house built of enchanted wood, a mother-daughter bond that changes a life, a family saga that brings you home, and a captivating love story, The Magic All Around is a work of storytelling-art."

—Patti Callahan Henry, New York Times bestselling author of The Secret Book of Flora Lea 

"Full of Southern charm, second chances, and an opinionated old house that's as (lovingly) meddlesome as a well-meaning aunt . . . equal parts magical and hopeful, revealing the healing power of love."

—Susan Bishop Crispell, author of The Secret Ingredient of Wishes  

". . . this story will feel like home on a page — whether it's the home you miss or the home you're hoping to find." 

—Natalie Lloyd, bestselling author of A Snicker of Magic 

". . . a cozy story of family, love and finding yourself. Perfect for fans of Heather Webber and Sarah Addison Allen!"

—Liz Parker, author of In the Shadow Garden 

"A fun escape into an enchanted house where hearts heal, relationships are repaired, and magic is all around."

—Goodreads Review

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

jennifer-moorman-harper-muse-author-web

JENNIFER MOORMAN 

Born and raised in southern Georgia, where honeysuckle grows wild and the whippoorwills sing, magical realism author Jennifer Moorman is the award-winning, bestselling author of the Mystic Water Series, which includes the reader favorite, The Baker's Man. Jennifer also has a collection of folklore, myth, and magic—Retellings of Folklore, Myth, and Magic—that offers imaginative retellings of stories told by our ancestors about their mysterious, fantastical beliefs in both the physical and the spiritual world.

She considers herself a traveler, an amateur baker, and a dreamer. She can always be won over with chocolate, unicorns, or rainbows. She believes in love—everlasting and forever.

Harry Potter fanatic and the owner of an arsenal of sweet ’80s dance moves, Jennifer once read a 700-page book while sitting in a traffic jam. When in doubt, play James Taylor. And she’s still holding onto the dream that one day she’ll be like Indiana Jones.

Connect with Jennifer:

Instagram: @jenniferrmoorman
Facebook: @jennifermoormanbooks
Pinterest: @jenniferreneem