The Light Always Breaks - Angela Jackson-Brown



Perfect for fans of Brit Bennett, Jaqueline Woodson, and Lisa Wingate, this moving story is about a star-crossed romance and the way love has the power to change everything.

In 1947, few women own upscale restaurants in Washington, DC. Fewer still are twenty-four, Black, and wildly successful. But Eva Cardon is unwilling to serve only the wealthiest movers and shakers, and she plans to open a diner that serves Southern comfort to the working class.

A war hero and one of Georgia’s native sons, Courtland Hardiman Kingsley IV is a junior senator with great ambitions for his time in DC. But while his father is determined to see Courtland on a path to the White House, the young senator wants to use his office to make a difference in people’s lives, regardless of political consequences.

When equal-rights activism throws Eva and Courtland into each other’s paths, they can’t fight the attraction they feel, no matter how much it complicates their dreams. For Eva, falling in love with a white Southerner is all but unforgivable—and undesirable. Her mother and grandmother fell in love with white men, and their families paid the price. Courtland is already under pressure for his liberal ideals, and his family has a line of smiling debutantes waiting for him on every visit. If his father found out about Eva, he’s not sure he’d be welcome home again.

Surrounded by the disapproval of their families and the scorn of the public, Eva and Courtland must decide if the values they hold most dear—including love—are worth the loss of their dreams . . . and everything else.

The author of When Stars Rain Down returns with a historical romance about all that has—and has not—changed in these United States.


“… a simmering exploration of attraction and identity … it's a thoroughly enticing read.”

—Glamour UK

“Award-winning Jackson-Brown’s latest historical novel, following When Stars Rain Down (2021), skillfully tackles romance, religion, and race relations in a tale that will appeal to readers who enjoyed The Personal Librarian (2021), The Vanishing Half (2020), and Black Bottom Saints (2020)."


“An immersive sense of time and place makes The Light Always Breaks an enticing lure to understanding complex factors in being privileged economically while politically and otherwise experiencing discrimination.”

Romance Daily News

“Hard and necessary truths are addressed, and as an avid reader of both historical fiction and historical romance, I found this novel struck a refreshing balance between the two. I highly recommend it.”

Rhonda McKnight, award-winning author of Unbreak My Heart

About the Author

Angela Jackson Brown


Angela Jackson-Brown is an award-winning writer, poet, and playwright who is a member of the graduate faculty of the Naslund-Mann Graduate School of Writing at Spalding University in Louisville, Kentucky. In the fall semester of 2022, she will be joining the creative writing program at Indiana University Bloomington as an associate professor. Angela is a graduate of Troy University, Auburn University, and the Spalding low-residency MFA program in creative writing. She has published her short fiction, creative nonfiction, and poetry in journals like the Louisville Courier Journal and Appalachian Review. She is the author of Drinking from a Bitter Cup, House Repairs, When Stars Rain Down, and the upcoming novel The Light Always Breaks.

When Stars Rain Down is a highly acclaimed novel that received a starred review from Library Journal and glowing reviews from Alabama Public Library, Buzzfeed, Parade magazine, and Woman’s Weekly. It was also a finalist for the David J. Langum, Sr. Prize in American historical fiction.

Learn more at

Connect on social media too.
Facebook: @AngelaDJacksonBrown
Instagram: @angelajacksonbrownauthor
Twitter: @adjackson68