Unsinkable

by Jenni L Walsh

On Sale: 2024-01-09

Price: $11.99

Book Summary

The Titanic was only the beginning. What she survived has become legend. Inspired by true stories of survival and resilience, Unsinkable entwines the lives of two women, one from World War 1 and another from World War 2, as they face adversity and take hold of the second chances given to them.

About the Book

“AN INSTANT USA TODAY BESTSELLER”

The Titanic was only the beginning. What she survived has become legend. Inspired by true stories of survival and resilience, Unsinkable entwines the lives of two women, one from World War 1 and another from World War 2, as they face adversity and take hold of the second chances given to them.

Violet Jessop is Miss Unsinkable.

After her mother becomes too ill to work, the responsibility to provide for the family falls to Violet as the oldest of nine. When the world enters the Great War, she serves as a nurse, helping men who could very well be her brothers. Working as a stewardess and wartime nurse, Violet not only survives a shipwreck but also two sinkings, one on the infamous Titanic. No one can understand why she would return to sea, but something keeps drawing Violet back to the tumultuous waters, where she struggles to put the tragedies of her past behind her and pursue a life and love all her own.

Daphne has survived calamity of her own.

Daphne Chaundanson grows up as an unwanted child after her mother died in a tragedy. She throws herself into education, collecting languages like candy in a desperate attempt to finally earn her father's approval. When the Special Operations Executive invites her to be an agent in France in World War II, her childhood of anonymity and her love of languages make her the perfect fit. She sees it as an opportunity to help the country she loves and live up to her father's expectations. But the dangers of war challenge Daphne in ways she never could have expected, and the secrets from her own past must be faced for her to truly have a future beyond the conflict--if she can survive it.

Inspired by true stories of Violet Jessop and the thirty-nine women of the Special Operations Executive. Two unsinkable women. Two stories of survival, family, and finding one's own happiness. One connection that reshapes both their lives forever.

  • Historical, stand-alone novel
  • Themes of: true events, second chances, and happy endings
  • Book length: approximately 103,000 words
  • Includes discussion questions for book clubs

Reviews

'A stunning dual narrative spanning some of the marquee events of the early twentieth century. Violet and Daphne are compelling heroines of the first order, and one cannot help but root for their triumph from the first page through to the seamless, satisfying conclusion. Walsh is a master storyteller, and Unsinkable shows her skill at its best. Not to be missed by anyone who loves historical fiction and resilient heroines.'

'An extraordinary story of two extraordinary women. Jenni L. Walsh expertly weaves together Violet's and Daphne's histories--Violet is real, Daphne an amalgamation of several real-life women--to craft a historical novel that is vivid and enthralling. There is intrigue and bravery, duty and love in these pages, and readers will keep turning them to the very end, eager to learn the fates of these two inspiring women. A joy to read.'

'I fell headfirst into this historical fiction tale featuring two powerful and resilient women, Violet and Daphne. Walsh seamlessly weaves together fact and fiction in a dual timeline narrative that keeps the reader guessing, culminating in a satisfying conclusion. The courage of both main characters lingered with me long after I turned the final page--I am so looking forward to whatever Walsh writes next!'

'Jenni L. Walsh spins an incredible tale of survival and heartbreak in this riveting novel. Inspired by true events, the rich historical detail and tense plotting make for an unforgettable read. Historical fiction lovers, add this one to your list!'

'. . . One of the most difficult aspects of writing historical fiction is creating authentic character mindsets, and Walsh captures this aspect beautifully . . . While history tells us what happened, through Walsh's compassionate prose, we're able to feel what happened as well. Sitting in a lifeboat, wrapped in shadows of the night, as a ship groans its last and plunges into the Atlantic to the setting of explosives in a German depot while guard dogs bark close by: these settings feel that much more authentic under Walsh's deft pen. UNSINKABLE is a story of courage, resilience, and steering your own course in life. Recommended!'

'An exhilarating voyage of danger, sacrifice, and ultimate triumph.'

'Move aside, Jack and Rose. It's time for another perspective on the Titanic shipwreck. New books on well-worn tales can be hard to pull off, but Jenni L. Walsh's fictional account of Violet Jessup, a real woman who survived three tragedies at sea (including the sinking of the Titanic), is fresh and riveting. Perfect for fans of Kristin Hannah's THE NIGHTINGALE, UNSINKABLE shines with themes of endurance, tenacity and female empowerment. I predict UNSINKABLE will be a favorite among in-person and online book clubs.'

'Violet survives a shipwreck and two sinkings, but the sea still beckons. Daphne joins the armed forces during WWII to prove her worth. An inspiring tale of second chances.'

'Walsh's latest (after The Call of the Wrens, 2022) is a heartfelt tale of two women in two times. Unsinkable joins the ranks of other spy novels written in this vein, but Walsh's prose truly allows the reader to enter the mind and heart of each character, bringing their motivations, flaws, and desires to light...Walsh skillfully crafts two well-rounded characters who grapple with internal and external conflict, and yet who honestly earn their resolutions.'

'With elegant prose and superb attention to detail, Walsh pulls you instantly onboard this beautiful tale of two determined, whip-smart, and truly unsinkable women. I was intrigued from page one, both Violet's and Daphne's stories sweeping me along through every harrowing moment until that perfect twist and captivating ending. A must-read for fans of unstoppable, courageous women.'

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9781400233953
  • ISBN 10: 140023395X
  • On Sale: 2024-01-09
  • Pages: 352
  • List Price: $11.99
  • Publisher: Harper Muse
  • Category 1 : FICTION / Historical / World War II
  • Category 2 : FICTION / War & Military
  • Category 3 : FICTION / Contemporary Women
  • Category 4 : FICTION / Sea Stories
  • Category 5 : FICTION / Historical / World War I