The Magic All Around

by Jennifer Moorman, Kathleen McInerney

On Sale: 2024-01-16

Price: $27.99

Format: Downloadable audio file

Book Summary

Sometimes a family treasure hunt unfurls new paths in life. This enchanting and whimsical tale of mothers and daughters, home, and love will open readers’ eyes to the magic all around them.

About the Book

In this latest enchanting novel from bestselling magical realism author Jennifer Moorman, a treasure hunt through the past reveals one woman’s extraordinary gift for arranging the future.

The Russell women have always lived in a house that is as special as they are—a century-old Victorian with a radio that tunes itself to the listener’s mood and a pantry that rearranges to provide just the right ingredients for any baking need. Lilith Russell was the exception. She left the family home in Ivy Ridge, Georgia, and has been flitting like a hummingbird from place to place with her daughter, Mattie, in the decades since, only returning each summer to drop Mattie off with Lilith’s sister, Penelope.

When Lilith dies suddenly, Mattie is left without her sole companion and the captain who steered her ship. That is, until she visits Ivy Ridge and learns Lilith charted one last course for Mattie: a series of tasks that she must complete to earn her inheritance, with Penelope overseeing the process.

Both Mattie and Penelope are outraged by Lilith’s seemingly random stipulations: throw a Halloween party, take a local pizza cooking class, share secrets with someone . . . But Mattie soon realizes that if she completes the tasks, she may unearth her mother’s secrets, including the identity of Mattie’s father. She may also discover more about the Russell family “gifts” and why Lilith chose Penelope’s former love to be the executor of the will. She may even learn how and why Jonathan Carlisle, the boy who stole her heart ten summers ago, also happens to be back in town.

Mattie can only hope that Lilith’s final map will finally point her home.

Reviews

'The Magic All Around is brimming with lyrical Southern beauty, page-turning mystery, and delightful magic. With a house built of enchanted wood, a mother-daughter bond that changes a life, a family saga that brings you home, and a captivating love story, The Magic All Around is a work of storytelling-art. For readers of Sara Addison Allen and Lauren K. Denton, this is your next captivating read. If we have eyes to see and ears to hear, Jennifer Moorman is here to remind us that there really is magic all around.'

'Brimming with love, and crackling with magic, this story will feel like home on a page -- whether it's the home you miss or the home you're hoping to find.'

'Charming, enchanted and delightfully Southern, Jennifer Moorman's The Magic All Around is a cozy story of family, love and finding yourself. Perfect for fans of Heather Webber and Sarah Addison Allen!'

'Full of Southern charm, second chances, and an opinionated old house that's as (lovingly) meddlesome as a well-meaning aunt, The Magic All Around is sure to delight. Jennifer Moorman's latest is equal parts magical and hopeful, revealing the healing power of love.'

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9781400240524
  • ISBN 10: 1400240522
  • Imprint: Harper Muse
  • On Sale: 2024-01-16
  • List Price: $27.99
  • Publisher: Harper Muse
  • Publication Date: 2024-01-16
  • Category 1 : FICTION / Contemporary Women
  • Category 2 : FICTION / Magical Realism *
  • Category 3 : FICTION / Small Town & Rural
  • Category 4 : FICTION / Southern