The Teacher of Warsaw

by Mario Escobar

On Sale: 2022-06-07

Price: $26.99

Book Summary

International bestselling author Mario Escobar captures the strength of the human spirit and the enduring power of kindness in this moving novel based on the true story of a brave Polish teacher who cared for hundreds of orphans in the Warsaw Ghetto.

About the Book

For fans of The Warsaw Orphan and The Tattooist of Auschwitz: the start of WWII changed everything in Poland irrevocably—except for one man’s capacity to love.

September 1, 1939. Sixty-year-old Janusz Korczak and the students and teachers at his Dom Sierot Jewish orphanage are outside enjoying a beautiful day in Warsaw. Hours later, their lives are altered forever when the Nazis invade. Suddenly treated as an outcast in his own city, Janusz—a respected leader known for his heroism and teaching—is determined to do whatever it takes to protect the children from the horrors to come.

When over four hundred thousand Jewish people are rounded up and forced to live in the 1.3-square-mile walled compound of the Warsaw ghetto, Janusz and his friends take drastic measures to shield the children from disease and starvation. With dignity and courage, the teachers and students of Dom Sierot create their own tiny army of love and bravely prepare to march toward the future—whatever it may hold.

Unforgettable, devastating, and inspired by a real-life hero of the Holocaust, The Teacher of Warsaw reminds the world that one single person can incite meaning, hope, and love.

Praise for The Teacher of Warsaw:

“Through meticulous research and with wisdom and care, Mario Escobar brings to life a heartbreaking story of love and extraordinary courage. I want everyone I know to read this book.”Kelly Rimmer, New York Times bestselling author of The Warsaw Orphan

“A beautifully written, deeply emotional story of hope, love, and courage in the face of unspeakable horrors. That such self-sacrifice, dedication and goodness existed restores faith in humankind. Escobar's heart-rending yet uplifting tale is made all the more poignant by its authenticity. Bravo!” —Tea Cooper, award-winning and bestselling author of The Cartographer’s Secret

  • World War II historical fiction inspired by true events
  • Includes discussion questions for book clubs, a historical timeline, and notes from the author
  • Book length: 83,000 words
  • Also by author: Auschwitz Lullaby, Children of the Stars, Remember Me, The Librarian of Saint-Malo

Reviews

In The Teacher of Warsaw, Escobar's intimate, first-person delivery is flawlessly researched. Its historic timeline unfurls with heightening drama from the vantage point of one selfless man dedicated to the wellbeing of Polish children in harrowing wartime conditions against all odds and costs. It's a sobering, memorable story taking the reader through tragic events in occupied Warsaw, from September 1939 to May of 1943. An important, sensitive look at the triumph of the human spirit over evil, The Teacher of Warsaw is based on a true story and epitomizes the very best of poignant historical fiction.

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9780785252177
  • ISBN 10: 0785252177
  • Imprint: Harper Muse
  • On Sale: 2022-06-07
  • Pages: 368
  • List Price: $26.99
  • Publisher: Harper Muse
  • Publication Date: 2022-06-07
  • Category 1 : FICTION / Historical / World War II
  • Category 2 : FICTION / War & Military
  • Category 3 : FICTION / Biographical
  • Category 4 : FICTION / Jewish